Second Life

Tools    

A system of cells interlinked
A friend of Mine linked me to this site the other day. It is a very interesting program that is sort of a world simulator. Not really a MMORPG, but it sort of feels like one It is sort of like The Matrix, I guess, sans the evil machines using you as a battery. You do create a character, like an RPG, but there are no quests to go on or anything like that. People can start to accrue L Dollars, which can actually be converted into real money at a later date if you like. People run businesses, hold events, chat, and many other activities in a 3d world. You can even go to the movies and buy virtual popcorn, and the program then streams the DVD movie to your comp to watch, as well as about six billion other things to do. I am a total newbie and don't know much about it, except that is seems pretty interesting.

I have an account on the world and will be tinkering around with the features etc for the next couple of weeks. Though tI would tell the other MoFos about it.

Second Life

Oh, almost forgot to mention. The install and the membership are free.

I have an account and my dude is named Tyrion Callisto

Maybe see some MoFos around in the matrix...

there's a frog in my snake oil
Blimey. Looks like those Sci-Fi cyberworld dreams are becoming a reality eh? Snow Crash, only without the mind-manipulating 'talking in tongues'. (That comes later )

Still...funny old world... 'Cats' charging around on snowmobiles wearing nothing but their fur and some imaginary jewellery... denigrators releasing massive self-multiplying 'viruses'... fund-raisers that genuinely generate cash for the Red Cross's Katrina efforts... business dealings, enterprises and bizarre initiatives (you could almost imagine Yods running his own baseball team in there - and making a profit )... 'movies' being made, and watched... people meeting up in self-styled enclaves and on designer mountain tops...