Do you smell what The Rock is cookin'?

Tools    

I'm talking about Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson.

Believe it or not, I'm a big fan of Pro Wrestling. I mainly like TNA these days, but back when it was huge I used to love the WWF.

The Rock was by far my favourite, I loved the guy. He was a great performer in the ring, and an even better entertainer outside of the ring. When he made the jump to Hollywood I was pretty dissapointed, cause I knew he wouldn't be as good an actor as he was a wrestler. The Rock was the best in the business, but although wrestling does involve performing, being a wrestler is nothing like being an actor.

I noticed his latest movie The Game Plan is topping the US box office at the moment, and I was just wondering what you all thought of him as an actor and as a Hollywood personality.

So if you never saw him in wrestling, what do you think of him? And if you used to watch him in WWF, what do you think about his career switch? When he first started doing movies people were calling him the new Arnie. I don't think we ever needed a new Arnie, but what do you think?

The Rock's movies so far...

The Mummy Returns
The Scorpion King
The Rundown
aka Welcome to the Jungle
Walking Tall
Be Cool
Doom
Southland Tales
The Game Plan

He'll be in the upcoming Get Smart too.

Tyger, Tyger, Burning Bright
Its really pretty funny how his movie career is mirroring Arnie's (right down to Arnie doing the "passing of the torch" cameo in The Rundown), and its probably a fair bet that its not by chance either.

As for what I think of his film career... I think he's doing pretty good, he is spreading the roles around like he should, and not really taking himself TOO seriously. The only thing he needs to cement himself as a star is "his" Terminator. I'd guess he thought his roles as the scorpion king were going to be it, but I don't think they were/are. They just didn't have quite the same impact.