I am trying to produce my first movie and I am a noob, please help

Tools    

Hello, I am new to the forum and I'm not completely sure if this is the correct forum to be posting a question like this. If not, please let me know.

Anyways, I have a very interesting movie idea about a very unique and interesting subject. The particular subject actually has never been adapted into a movie, suprisingly. I am afraid to say what the subject is because to be honest, I don't want someone who is a more experienced movie producer than myself to think, "hmm what a great idea to make a movie about that, i better get on that". So I will just keep that to myself. On to my actual question, I am currently in the early development process in which i am just developing the story and the plot. My only concern is that my plot is very long, like its almost turning into a story in itself, if that makes any sense. It's almost getting to the point where it has the feel of being a mixture of a plot, story, and script...all in one.

I'm not sure if this is a good thing or a bad thing. Because I'm pretty sure my initial concern should be developing something that can be successfully pitched to big movie production companies and I'm pretty sure it needs to be something that doesnt take very long to explain. Only problem is that my movie is very complex, not in a way that is hard to understand, or boring, but the story itself has a lot of meat to it. Can anyone give me some advice on this, am i going in the right direction so far? Is there anything I should know about the process of developing a new movie idea?

If you guys need more information from me about this, just ask.

***Cliffnotes:
-I am completely new to developing a movie idea and im doing it all on my own with ZERO experience in the industry.
-I am unsure if what im currently working on is what i should be focusing on as my initial starting point in this project.