The Business of Charity

Tools    

My life isn't written very well.
OK guys, I've been working in a large pet store warehouse chain for nearly six months now. It's been fun. But recently at work, I've been asked to do something I really don't agree with. Given my past career as a journalist, I often question things as I see them so the public can make their own judgements.

The company I work for now sponsors many charities that offer solutions to our animal population. Some charities house lost pets, shelter abandoned animals and adopt them out to loving families. As you know charities need money. So every year my company does a charity drive to help out these organizations with their overhead.

My problem is this:

Since I am a cashier, it is my job to ask for donations. As customers are checking out I have to ask each one if they'd like to donate some money. That's fine, but I don't always ask each individual for a hand-out. Well, that got me into trouble..sort of. It seems there's a competition with each store in the district as to who can "sell" the most donations. That doesn't sit well with me AT ALL!

I mean people should donate money to something because they want to, not because there's a certain quota to fill inside the company. What's worse is that the "competiton" is also fueled from inside the store. Employees who get the most donations (read money) win something or other at the end of the drive.

I so want to rebel because one, I hate asking for something that should be given without guilt. And two, I know, as well as you do, that no matter how much money is made for this charity, most of it will go to line the corporations pockets.

I'm pandering for money that won't go fully to the charities, and I'll get into trouble if I don't because it's all a big competition anyway. I HATE IT!

r66-The member who always asks WHY?

there's a frog in my snake oil