Spike Lee- Like him? Hate him? Indifferent?

Tools    

The reason I ask is because I didn't really see him mentioned in the directors you like thread nor did I see him in the directors you hate thread-so I'm wondering where people stand.

I think he's a good director- his film content can be iffy at times but I always feel that at least the film was directed well.

I think Spike has made one masterpiece, a handful of good films, a bunch of average ones and a few stinkers. As an artist I think he's pretty hit and miss, but ultimately he's also usually worth checking out.

As for his politics and things outside of his work, I don't really care one way or the other, and I'm able to separate the art from the artist enough to look at his movies for what they are.

But Do the Right Thing...that's just such a brilliant flick.

"Film is a disease. When it infects your bloodstream it takes over as the number one hormone. It bosses the enzymes, directs the pineal gland, plays Iago to your psyche. As with heroin, the antidote to Film is more Film." - Frank Capra

His use of color in that movie was fantastic. I can't really watch the movie over and over again but the story isn't one that you want to continue to view. I liked Mo' Better Blues--that was his best film in my opinion--School Daze was ok for a semi-musical.

District B13
I've seen "Do the right thing" among other movies, and he gets a rep as either an influential director or racist.

Here is my take on "Do the right thing"

Spoilers ahead.

From what I deduce of the movie their was a picture of Martin Luther King and Malcolm X.

Martin Luther King was peace for all, Malcom X was separation by any means neccessary.

The italian americans in that movie acted violent and separatist, much like Malcolm X. The koreans in that film acted peaceful and tolerant, much like Martin Luther King Jr.

I know that that probably isn't what Spike Lee intended, but I believe it mirrors personality. It was my take on the movie.