C.S.I and how crimes are portrayed

Tools    

Hi all

I am an alevel media student in the process of creating my critical research project and i was woundering if any of you had an oppinion on how crimes are portrayed in both T.V programmes and Films.

The main area of my research is how it seems that crimes are solved in such small spaces of time

If any of you could help me i would be very great full

the a pickup

Will your system be alright, when you dream of home tonight?
My opinion on CSI:Miami, if the chick from "NewsRadio" can do it, I can. Someone get me a cadaver quick!

it would be apriciated if you made sense with replys thank you

Real police have huge crime loads. They cannot just dedicate ALL of their time to one crime till it is solved. They also have lots and lots of paperwork to do on minor crimes. In real life, the boss of a group of police is not in the front line all the time but is often only called in on dangerous situations. Police make a lot of use of informers to solve cases. As in The Shield to some extent, there are bad police about who beat up innocent and guilty people, who take bribes, who commit crimes, etc. And of course, there are incompetent police.

Catching a crook is half the battle. You then have to win in court where crooks can often deny what is said and what happened. And then there are the liars, sorry, lawyers as well as incompetent and senile judges as well as do-gooders.

Crimes on TV and films are totally unrealistic where eventually it all works according to plan and the bad guys lose. Most don't even read a suspect their rights, which can invalidate an arrest.

Police come in all shapes and sizes and are not all male and female models. Maverick cops usually end up sacked and cops who handle very dangerous criminals on their own either end up sacked or more likely, dead.

A system of cells interlinked
TV - NOT REAL

LIFE - REAL