Does studying film help or hinder?

Tools    

Hello Salem, my name's Winifred. What's yours
Im currently halfway through my first year in a BA Hons i film studies and already im starting to watch films with a different view point and to be honest sometimes it really bugs me. I'm naming the shot sizes and the camera moves in my head. If anyone else does film studies, tell me, what effect has it had on how you watch movies?

Haha I totally agree mate. I studied film in 6th Form and you do tend to pay more attention to things like camera movements, shots, mise-en-scene etc.

It can be a bit annoying sometimes but all round I think its given me a much better and deeper understanding of films, and I am able to appreciate them on many more levels too.

But like I said it can be annoying too

Shared Hosting from $1.50 per month!
Also offer Reseller hosting, VPS, and dedicated servers!

Welcome to the human race...
That's the general consensus. You do let the ideas seep in when you try to watch movies.

Sometimes it happens. Sometimes not.

The Fabulous Sausage Man
Film Studies has had no effect on me since I've always looked at films in that way.

im finding that im questioning my response to a film cause i keep thinking of it in terms of theorists or other directors and stuff, trying to remember what it was like when i didnt know any of this stuff when i had to come up with my own thoughts about it

For the movie lover, film studies will always be a valuable thing in that it alows us to articulate exactly why we appreciate certain aspects of film. It is true that these studies tend to bring out the 'brushstrokes' of production, and the entire filmmaking process ceases to be invisible for most movies, but knowledge is rarely a harmful thing. Film studies, for me, has opened up thousands of fantastic movies which i would have never previously have even watched, and matured and evolved my point of view on the movies i already love.