How of the sights and sounds of a child’s world contribute to fear?

Tools    

Hi, I am currently carrying out a research project. I am studying this question, relating back to horror films such as IT (2017), Annabelle: Creation, and The Ring. Focusing on child fears such as clowns, dolls and even the use of nursery rhymes. does any one have any other ideas or opinions on this?

The use of something normally comforting and playful and associated with children as an element of terror is very powerful because it goes to the heart of what we think of as 'safe'. It builds the fear that if THAT can be corrupted then what hope do we have! Nothing is safe! Plus theres the element of evil things getting to our children which is ostensibly a more terrifying notion then evil things getting to us. Thats why movies like Poltergeist or Mama were so effective because they were essentially about innocent children being dragged into direct contact with supernatural forces. And that we MUST protect them! Of course, the twist in the movie Mama was that the supernatural force felt the same way.

a micro reef aquarist
Great thread. I believe visual input from movies to be the single largest source of nightmares for children, and ran this experiment to test the theory:

Me/child of the 80s watched anything i wanted retarding horror films as a youth. Result, plaguing nightmares all of developmental life.

When my daughter was born in the nineties, she was raised with a firm rule no horror tv, no crime scene tv, and any relative that plays them in my absence will meet with t Rex, and likely to lose a limb. Dad didn't play.

Result

The worst bad dream my child had in twenty years was a big spider. Not one ghost, ghoul, a big dinner plate spider.

Maybe she peeked around the corner during arachnophobia heh.