Mario Bava: All the Colors of the Dark.

Tools    

Mario Bava
All the C
olors of the Dark

The link and specifications on www.videowatchdog.com

I have been saving my pennies for a couple months now on purchasing this nearly $300 book. Tomorrow, I send those pennies off, and get my "Little Orphan Annie 'Secret Decoder Ring'" for Bava's filmography as it were... only this time, the message will certainly not result in the mundane "Be sure to drink your Ovaltine." The book even has its own blog, seen HERE. The book has even acquired big name fans such as Guillermo del Toro, who commented about the book:

Originally Posted by Guillermo del Toro
To my mind, the two greatest film books of all are HITCHCOCK/TRUFFAUT and yours, ALL THE COLORS OF THE DARK. These books are incredible not only for the way they discuss movies, but for the way they convey the sheer love of movies. When I read your book -- and I have two copies, one to read and one to keep -- it makes me want to get off my ass and get out there and shoot a ****ing movie!
On my own film website, I'm engaging in the uphill process of studying a mountain of numerous directors, and practicing, through a sort of mimicry, their given styles. The one chosen now is Craig Baldwin. I believe the next, with the purchase of this book. Will be Mario Bava. I have seen and own much of Bava's films but for the first time I believe this will allow me to get much more in depth and serious on the matter, I'd expect no less. Anyway, as I am doing with Baldwin, I will be reporting my findings on my webpage and transfer them here. Hopefully, it will be something we all can enjoy.

Here's to future studies my friends!