Is it me or are people here really conservative?

Tools    

Newbie here... Just looked at a couple threads and noticed a trend...

"Someone said Harry Potter will break $80 million opening weekend, LOL"

After making $250 million: "I don't think it will make the $18 million it needs to beat Shrek." (At $300 million and counting)

Then looking at the LOTR threads:

"I doubt it makes $200 million"
After it's out a couple weeks, "I'm raising my prediction to $230-250 million"

Perhaps these two movies have exceeded expectations, but even after coming out people are still shooting low... perhaps people don't want to seem too enthusiastic, i.e. not part of the hype machine? And you certainly don't want to be like those drooling fans who predict Titanic is going down. javascript:smilie('')

Call me crazy but I wouldn't dismiss $400 million for LOTR just yet, even with the steep dropoff this weekend ($5.7 million on Sunday, oomph.) It'll beat Potter, for sure.javascript:smilie('')

err... I guess I don't have the hang of the smileys. javascript:smilie('')

Don't copy the link location to create the smile: you're just supposed to click on it. Welcome to MovieForums.com, by the way.

Yeah, a lot of the predictions are a bit on the conservative side. Most of mine are, at least...though, not to toot my own horn too much, I do think I'm fairly close most of the time. IMO, it's better than the so-called "analysts" who thought "Potter" had a fairly easy shot at $400 million domestically.

My original prediction, as of over 2 months ago, before Potter or LOTR came out, was Potter just shy of $300 million, and LOTR at a bit under $250 million. When you consider how difficult it is to predict such things, the fact that I'll probably come within $25 million for Potter is pretty good. LOTR remains to be seen.