Fiscal's Short Films

Tools    

Alright MoFos,

I have finally begun itching the huge scratch that is my interest in film making. This is the beginning. I have zero experience. I want to post my videos in this thread for feedback, criticism, interest, whatever. Hopefully I can also witness first hand my improvements in capturing film as I progress since I can catalog everything in here.

Please, do not hesitate to give me feedback. I am sure now, in the beginning, this will mostly be me experimenting with capturing and editing techniques but I would still love to hear any advice or criticism you guys may have.

I completed my first short not too long ago today. Here it is:

To Slow it Down

Please note, it was filmed in HD and meant to be viewed full screen if possible.

Very good use of the light you had available. Oh my gosh that song was awful. It was distracting the viewer from the film to say the least. Cute kids, and you definitely could have shown off the nature more as you had the film quality to do so. In the backyard scene who was that in the background? Were they filming you filming? Nice job Fiscal

Thanks man. I figured I would hear something about the song, I like the band way too much, I was actually trying to convince myself not to use it, but in the end I thought it fit just fine.

Oh, that is my wife in the background taking still shots.

Thanks for the feedback bro, I appreciate it

That was seriously good. Music taste is always up for grabs, but I responded positively to the song. The interesting, offbeat texture of the piano in the beginning was perfect in setting the ethereal mood of the entire film. You also coordinated the images of your son well with the singing (close ups on his face corresponding to the intimacy the guy's voice). The moment of silence in the song too, I felt, came in at a perfect time where you began to walk away and he followed. Draws focus to that image.