I need some advice

Tools    

I joined this discussion forum to try and get some help. I'm a writer, and have been approached by an independent film maker to have my third book turned into a movie. I own all rights to the project jointly with the subject of the book. The person who approached us did not mention obtaining the motion picture rights from me/us or any fee for those rights, and wants to write the screenplay himself. Out of the 100 revenue 'points', I am being offered one percent, while he as the scriptwriter would receive 4 points.

Does anyone know if this is standard procedure in the business these days? Just consider me a total novice when it comes to all this, because I am learning as I go. And hoping there are some people here who might be able to englighten me even a little.

It simply does not seem fair to me that the original creator of a piece of work should only be entitled to one percent of the revenue from a project that could bring in millions to the others involved. Yes I know, life isn't fair, but still...

Thanks in advance for any help and advice anyone can offer.

Alice

Standing in the Sunlight, Laughing
I don't know anything about this, but it seems to me that you should call an agent or at least an entertainment lawyer before you sign on any dotted lines. Congrats on the interest in your work!

I don't know anything about this, but it seems to me that you should call an agent or at least an entertainment lawyer before you sign on any dotted lines. Congrats on the interest in your work!