Joel's Experimentals

Tools    

I did start a thread a while back called "Filmmakers at Home" which was short lived. I thought I'd start another thread and just drop in bits and pieces of the stuff I've been workshopping since 2012, when I first started trying my hand at film.

My passion is design, and by that I mean sound design, music, framing, color, found locations, rhythm of editing, so on and so forth. I haven't hit my creative peak yet because I, like many others interested in this sort of thing, are waiting for the right ingredients and opportunity.

Some say you must make your own opportunities and forge ahead. I disagree. You can't run before you try walking. This is a life work, film making. I am not interested in commercial film making as much as I am interested in learning the technical side of what turns me on about the medium.

Film making is an all encompassing art form that incorporates dance, light, music, graphic design, effect work, writing and human emotion, not to mention everything else under the sun and moon.

With that bloated intro..I'll leave you with something much less inspired...

https://www.youtube.com/edit?o=U&video_id=sUU5xbst3C4

http://joelbooska.wixsite.com/thevid...ge/excavations

I'll post this one again because I'm proud of it..I know, according to Christian religion, pride is a sin...maybe I'm satisfied with it, then. It has a story to tell..I'll be including "director's commentary" for anyone interested (probably just me)

DIRECTOR'S COMMENTARY

I came up with a way to take super VHS footage I filmed down at the glastonbury pier and tweak it in real-time with an echo chamber for video effecting. It's a bit of a hack program designed by an acquaintance of mine, Alex May, called Big Fug. I was able to sizzle and replicate many angles with an already overly saturated palate of colors I got juiced from the magnetic footage.