Meeting Mel Brooks!

Tools    

The Adventure Starts Here!
So, last Friday, December 9, 2016, this happened in my old hometown of Easton, Pa., at an old restored vaudeville theater where I used to work as a teen. Apologies that a 90-year-old, short, balding man is more photogenic than I am, but I thought some of you would get a kick out of it.

I've been a fan since 1974, so this was a bit of a dream come true for me.

This was right before he kissed me and said he loved me. Me and about 75 other people. Still ...

Right on! Was he funny?
The event is called Back in the Saddle. He's touring the country doing this shtick. It's a showing of Blazing Saddles, followed by a little over an hour of Mel telling stories and answering Q&A from the audience.

Then the VIP ticket holders got to meet-and-greet (for about thirty seconds each, ha!) and have some photographer take our pictures. We also got a signed poster.

His stories were hilarious. The man has energy to spare. There was an interviewer on stage and two easy chairs and a coffee table. Mel kept grabbing his mic and standing and dashing around the stage to tell his stories. He couldn't sit still. Great, great fun.

And it was a total hoot to watch Blazing Saddles with an audience of 1,500 (sold out!) mega-fans, all laughing and applauding and hollering and reciting lines along with the whole movie.

It was like a Rocky Horror Picture Show event for comedy freaks. LOVED every second of it.

The event is called Back in the Saddle. He's touring the country doing this shtick. It's a showing of Blazing Saddles, followed by a little over an hour of Mel telling stories and answering Q&A from the audience.
OMG, this sounds totally awesome, I'm so jealous. I have so many questions I have always wanted to ask Mel Brooks.

OMG, this sounds totally awesome, I'm so jealous. I have so many questions I have always wanted to ask Mel Brooks.