Movies that should be shown in film school?

Tools    

Movie Forums Squirrel Jumper
I graduated from film school a while ago, and the three movies they showed us, which we studied and broke down, were Children of Men (2006), Winter's Bone (2010), and Limitless (2011).

Three movies I would have expected actually. But which movies do you think should be shown to educationally learn from?

My top 2 so far would be Cell 211 (2009), and Ed Wood (1994)

Cell 211 was great on how to a 180 degree character arc in such a short amount of time, while keeping subplots interconnecting with it. Ed Wood is a good movie on what not to do, but a great inspiration on filmmaking passion.

But which movies do you think should be shown?

I graduated from film school a while ago, and the three movies they showed us, which we studied and broke down, were Children of Men (2006), Winter's Bone (2010), and Limitless (2011).
I'm amazed they only showed films from the last twenty years. I haven't seen any of those incidentally. I never fancied Children of Men in particular.

Three movies I would have expected actually. But which movies do you think should be shown to educationally learn from?
I'd want to show something that's rich in visuals, with interesting shots and editing. I'd have to put Werner Herzog in there because I love his eye for shot composition – Nosferatu the Vampyre's a great one. I also think Dredd 's a brilliant film in that it combines action with pure cinema – the Slo-Mo sequences take it to that transcendent level.

12 Angry Men
Perfect example of how to make a movie that takes place in one room, and has only characters to drive the plot.

^^ Agree with Dredd as well.
Dredd can also be used as an example of how online leaking and script security works, and how it affects a movie's reputation, after the script for Dredd was leaked online and plagiarised by the studio behind The Raid... which then caused people to think that Dredd was the copy.