Question about the story to Brokeback Mountain (2005).

Tools    

Movie Forums Squirrel Jumper
I don't know if I should put a warning or not since my question has do with the sexuality of the characters and their sex lives.

But I watched this movie with my friend. He's seen it before back when it came out and liked it, where as this is my first time watching it.

So I watched the movie and we had a disagreeing debate about the story, in the sense that he thought that the two main characters in the movie were homosexual, where as I thought they were bisexual.

The reason why I thought this was because they didn't seem to have any problems getting sexually aroused by their wives in the movie. But my friend totally disagreed and felt they were 100% homosexual, he said.

But what do you think? Did I interpret it wrong?

Physical sexual arousal and sexual attraction are not the same thing.

It's very common for gays and lesbians to have heterosexual intercourse at some point, especially early on in their lives. This is typically either because they have not yet fully realized and accepted their sexuality or because they were consciously trying to hide it. However, I've known gay and lesbian people who occasionally have heterosexual sex because they think it's fun, but they have no actual attraction to the other person. In terms of the film, I think It's also important to note that it's set in a time and place where being openly gay is a much more dangerous thing than it is today so the drive to appear "normal" would be stronger in their situation.

But to answer your question, I think the sexuality of Ennis may be a bit open for interpretation, but it's pretty clear to me that Jack is gay.

However, I've known gay and lesbian people who occasionally have heterosexual sex because they think it's fun, but they have no actual attraction to the other person.