A-Level Film Help!!!! (Vietnam War and movie narratives)

Tools    

Hi, I am an A2 film studies student needing opinions on the Vietnam war. Underneath is the question i am analysing and answering:

How did the Vietnam War change the narratives and conventions in US War movies?

Any of your knowledgeable opinions and points would be kindly taken on board

Many thanks Cini

Hi there. Welcome to Movie Forums.

So, fair warning: we got a lot of homework requests like this, and most of the people here aren't nuts about them. If you want to mitigate that, and increase your chances of getting meaningful responses, it helps a lot to actually start and shepherd a discussion along. If you just post the question and ask people to answer it, people don't respond as well to that, since it feels like you're just the middleman for the work.

Hi, I am an A2 film studies student needing opinions on the Vietnam war. Underneath is the question i am analysing and answering:

How did the Vietnam War change the narratives and conventions in US War movies?

Any of your knowledgeable opinions and points would be kindly taken on board

Many thanks Cini
Really you need help with this?

I think the big difference between pre and post Vietnam War was the focus of the film. Before Vietnam war movies tended to be more epic, they were more about being visually stunning. But after the Vietnam War the focus moved away from the "war" part of war movies and more towards the soldiers and the psychology of said soldiers.

Coming Home was more about the soldiers and PTSD and the different ways it manifested intself.

The Great Santini was more about the aging soldier, coming to grips with your mortality.

The Deer Hunter was about the effect the war had on a collective of friends.

Apocalypse Now was really about the soldier in country, though really it's more a Heart of Darkness adaptation.

First Blood the ordeal of the lost soldier and discarded ma