How do you review?

Tools    

“Sugar is the most important thing in my life…”
I have been in the process of mapping out changes for the new year for a bit. Some have been implemented the past month or so, in order to avoid New Year's overload. Maybe you've heard of the world famous 2017 DVR Movie Relegation thread ?

I am a self-avowed horrid writer, lacking any ability to form or convey any thoughts about movies. I am also proficient in grammar destruction. For the new year, I am going to keep a running record of movies viewed accompanied by at least two strong, coherent sentences.

Feel free to share any thoughts on how you develop your thoughts or musings on what you look for in movie reviews.

Bright light. Bright light. Uh oh.
Feel free to approach every film as its own entity. Basically tell how it made you feel and why. Once you know that, try to express it as succintly as possible. You'll be fine - the more films you write about, the happier you'll be with your writing.

Feel free to approach every film as its own entity. Basically tell how it made you feel and why.
Cue the abstract.

How many times has anyone heard, "I don't trust the critics" or "I don't read reviews." That comes across as very dismissive to me.

Sometime ago, I read that you should find a reviewer that suits your sensibilities and give credence to what they say.

I just hope to make my contributions coherent with some structure. Poor writing skills don't translate well to this format, but there is always room for improvement.

....I am going to keep a running record of movies viewed accompanied by at least two strong, coherent sentences.

Feel free to share any thoughts on how you develop your thoughts or musings on what you look for in movie reviews.
Good for you! Glad to hear you're going to start writing reviews We need more reviewers at MoFo. I'll let you in on a secret, it's easy to do