Movie Forums (http://www.movieforums.com/community/index.php)
-   Upcoming Movies & Sequels (http://www.movieforums.com/community/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   The Da Vinci Code (http://www.movieforums.com/community/showthread.php?t=8907)

suppression 10-09-04 01:05 AM

The Da Vinci Code

The rumor is that Ron Howard will be turning this controversial novel into a film. I personally can't wait. I have full faith that Ron Howard will do a superb job with this.

At this point, I'm not sure this is anything more than at the rumor stage, but here's a link to check out for what little details are currently available.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0382625/

TheJoker 10-09-04 11:39 AM

Did you read the book? Did you like it?

suppression 10-09-04 09:11 PM

I'm a college student. I barely have enough time to read the text books for class. But, people with very similar literature tastes as myself read the book and had very strong reactions to it (some loved it, some hated it). I plan on buying it and one of those books that disprove it similtaneously and then reading it, but the movie will probably be out by the time I'm able to do that.

projectMayhem 10-10-04 12:06 PM

I thought the book was fascinating with all the little trivia bits he put in there, however I don't think that's going to translate well into a movie, b/c honestly the plot wasn't very good. Also if read other books by the same author you may realize that they all have the same exact formula. I've been able to target the bad guy in each of 'em so far earlier than half way into the book.

Henry The Kid 10-10-04 02:16 PM

It was a terrifically badly written book. Which makes me curious how well they can possible adapt it. Very well-researched, on the other hand. Perhaps a more competent writer than Dan Brown could have made it something great.

Anyway, the lameness of the ending will make it difficult for me to ever really care about seeing it put to film.

Miles 10-11-04 05:04 PM