Movie Forums (http://www.movieforums.com/community/index.php)
-   Movie Reviews (http://www.movieforums.com/community/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Review This, by thmilin, inc. (http://www.movieforums.com/community/showthread.php?t=11722)

thmilin 03-20-06 12:37 AM

Review This, by thmilin, inc.

It begins. There was a time when I mocked up reviews in Notepad and sent them to Senor Yoda to load, but that time is long ago, and I enter now the hallowed halls of mofo reviewdom.

Style Warning! : I write/talk a lot. Old folks from this board know this. That means unless I am tired/bored/preoccupied, you're going to see a very thorough analysis of whatever it was I saw.

My Background : Surprise, surprise - I'm a writer for a living, and creatively on the side. My major was English, Creative Writing. My minor was Film Studies when my university didn't even have it as a major or a minor, so in my pursuit of film, I forced the Art History department to give me recognition for my work.

This shows how much I wuv movies, just like you. :) This also shows why I may refer to some filmic elements, but since I did not make film my career, you're not going to see me get into extreme detail regarding the framing of shots, the actual film used, saturation of color, etc. I love film, but not enough to make it, so I'm not going to talk about it from a film-makers' perspective. I'm going to talk about it from the POV of an every day film lover who also has a thing for the nuance of film, with my eye being grounded in the similar story-telling elements and skills needed to tell a story well that are a part of creative writing.

What I Review : I review crap. Just kidding! I review anything I come across, so you may see mindless crud (teen stupidity flicks), foreign films, art house, independent, period pieces, action flicks, dramas, romances, films of worth and films of no worth at all. Whatever I feel like seeing and writing about will appear here.