Movie Forums (http://www.movieforums.com/community/index.php)
-   General Movie Discussion (http://www.movieforums.com/community/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Do movies teach stereotypes? (http://www.movieforums.com/community/showthread.php?t=63765)

barefootmoose 04-18-21 11:52 AM

Do movies teach stereotypes?

Hello everyone!

Before I jump into it, I would like to say a few words about myself. I live in Budapest, Hungary. In recent years the city has became quite popular with some directors, which really sparked my interest in filmmaking. I am especially interested in cinematography. I am a sociology student (like Bong Joon-ho once was) and I currently work on my thesis.

For this work I would like to ask for some help. I am conducting a research on how movies can teach a society stereotypes. The main focus of the research is Hungary (a really homogeneous society, in terms of race and ethnicity). However, I just focusing on Hungary would make little sense so I am also interested in the habits and knowledge of the US audiences.

For this reason I am asking members who are from the US (citizens and residents alike) to please help me by filling out my survey. It takes about 5 minutes to complete.

You can find it here:

https://forms.gle/mMwKxjy7KgbLp2wH8

Thank you so much for your help!

Yoda 04-18-21 11:54 AM

Re: Survey-do movies teach stereotypes?

Hey everyone, just a note that this person checked with us about this beforehand and was very considerate about the rules. :)

Yoda 04-18-21 11:56 AM

Re: Do movies teach stereotypes?

Just answering the question prompted, forms aside, I think the answer is obviously: yes. I think they also reflect stereotypes. They feed into each other, the way any generalized knowledge does.

CringeFest 04-18-21 12:06 PM

I don't think they teach stereotypes to any greater degree than the audience.