Movie Forums (http://www.movieforums.com/community/index.php)
-   Movie Reviews (http://www.movieforums.com/community/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Rain Man (1988) Review (http://www.movieforums.com/community/showthread.php?t=43698)

Pelicula Pelican 11-29-15 12:58 AM

Rain Man (1988) Review

1 Attachment(s)
"I'm an excellent driver."
-Raymond Babbit

Method actor, Dustin Hoffman (The Graduate, Marathon Man) joins co-star, Tom Cruise (Top Gun, Jerry McGuire) in this point A to point B film about companionship. Cruise plays the role of protagonist, Charlie Babbit; an impatient and intolerant car dealer who is irritated after being screwed out of his three million dollar inheritance from his father who recently passed. Aggravated and determined to see his birthright, Charlie and his girlfriend Susana travel in a 1949 Buick Road Master Convertible to the Wallbrook Mental Institution, where the money has been directed to. It is at this institution, Charlie is introduced to his autistic older brother, Raymond Babbit. Prior to visiting Wallbrock, Charlie never knew of his brother's existence and it is the interactions and bonding the brothers go through that further explains his frustration when he asks, "Why didn't somebody tell me I had a brother?"

The film is about the bonding of the two siblings during a six day road trip, but perhaps the strongest quality of the film is Dustin Hoffman's portrayal of a man living with autism. The acting heavyweight drew into his experience working in a psychiatric home to help him build his character. In addition, Hoffman spent quite a bit of time interacting with Kim Peek, the autistic savant (often called "The human google") that screenwriter, Barrow Morrow based the film on. An autistic savant is someone with impressive intelligence in mathematics, or memorization, but lacks the judgmential and social skills of a person not living with a mental illness.