The Death Penalty

Tools    

What Is Your Stance On The Death Penalty?
45.71%
16 votes
I'm All For It
54.29%
19 votes
Totally Against It
35 votes. You may not vote on this poll

OK, why do I always have to throw off the curve? Intellectually I can say I am not a proponent of the death penalty. Emotionally I can say that I am firmly in favor of it in some cases. Too many people are wrongly convicted and sentenced, and others who have done almost identical crimes get off much easier. Personally even if rehabilitation is impossible, death is far too lenient a punishment.
"You have to believe in God before you can say there are things that man was not meant to know. I don't think there's anything man wasn't meant to know. There are just some stupid things that people shouldn't do." -David Cronenberg

For it, I reckon the punishment should fit the crime, If you stab someone, you get stabbed, if you shoot someone, you get shot, as for rape and paedophillia, cut their meat and 2 veg off! That's a fair way of doing it i think!

In the Beginning...
Against it.

Morally, I object to humanity's right to decide -- no matter the circumstances -- who lives and who dies. Beyond that, I've never understood how the death penalty is really a form of punishment. I'd rather see murderers rot in a cell than get a painless ticket to oblivion.

I am having a nervous breakdance
Totally against it.

--------

They had temporarily escaped the factories, the warehouses, the slaughterhouses, the car washes - they'd be back in captivity the next day but
now they were out - they were wild with freedom. They weren't thinking about the slavery of poverty. Or the slavery of welfare and food stamps. The rest of us would be all right until the poor learned how to make atom bombs in their basements.

Some people deserve to die, but it's wrong to kill them.